• December 13, 2017, 06:16 PM
• Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Perusing The Shelves

Author Topic: Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee  (Read 5447 times)

Offline jessadia

Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee
« on: August 30, 2011, 11:20 AM »
Name of the book: Angelfall by Susan Ee

Genre: YA paranormal

Book publish year (optional): May 21, 2011

Rating (out of 5): 5

Brief intro (optional):   (intro taken from Amazon.com)
It's been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels' stronghold in San Francisco where she'll risk everything to rescue her sister and he'll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

Your review:

The novel is set in a post-apocalyptic future where angels have come to bring war to humans, and each other, on Earth. Penryn is a 17 year old girl with an insane mother, dead father and crippled 7 year old sister. She witnesses angels attacking one of their own in the streets and cutting off his wings. Penryn tries to make a diversion to allow her mother and sister to get away so the angels won't attack them as well but soon finds herself caught up in the fight. The broken angel aids her before collapsing on the road but when Penryn turns to help her sister one of the attacking angels lashes out and steals her. Penryn, desperate to rescue her sister, takes the battered angel to shelter. Penryn steals the angels wings and once he (Raffe) is well, Penryn convinces him to help lead her to the aerie where they are holding her sister and in return she will give him his angel wings back so that they may be sewn back on.

The characters were amazing and the writing was full of non-stop action, although there were several parts of the book that were rather gruesome. There was not a lot of "lovey dovey" stuff in the book but the relationship between the two main characters actually built throughout the book, leaving me wanting to read more.

 I would not recommend this book to anyone under the age of 16.
 

Advertisement


Offline Anams

Re: Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2011, 11:00 PM »
I'm yet to start on this one but a rating of 5 means I shall get to it sooner rather than later.
Treat everyone with politeness, even those who are rude to you – not because they are nice… but because you are nice
 

Offline EndlessDreams

Re: Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2011, 12:46 AM »
I've head so many good things about Angelfall, and I have been wanting to read it for a while. The only thing putting me off it is the 'gruesome' bits in the book. I can't seem to read books that have people physically hurting others. I have only read the Hunger Games with this type of theme and I was fine reading it. Does Angelfall go into more detail with hurting others or is it less than what's in Hunger Games?
Dreams exist so we know what we are capable of becoming ❤
 

Offline jessadia

Re: Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2011, 02:17 PM »
There is waaaay more in Angelfall but it is one of the best books I have read lately.

*SPOILER ALERT*

In Angelfall there are several gruesome parts. For example, there are children cannibals- and it details them attacking people, complete with after descriptions. There are dead children's naked bodies bruised and bloodied, two young girls hanging from a tree with their lower halves eaten and the MC's younger sister is turned into a crazy cannibal child and attacks and eats a person right in front of Penryn--- but please do not be discouraged.

*END SPOILER

 Yes, the book was totally gruesome but it was also an amazing read. The gruesome bits are spaced out a little so as not to overwhelm and the rest of the book is good enough to make up for the gut-wrenching bits. The nauseating parts make the book what it is- an amazing, well written piece of art.
 

Offline LivingInBooks

Re: Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2011, 09:30 PM »
@athleticchik: HG Series didn't bother me much either, but Angelfall was whole different monster when it comes to gruesomeness. I thnk it bothered me particularly b'coz of violence towards kids. Story is good though, so you could do what I did -- skip the pages / paragraphs that has violence in it.

If I have a chance for a do-over, I'd hold off till we get sequel and then read this book. I don't like it when books ends with sort of cliffhanger. I've got quite a few in my "Wait Till Sequel" shelf :)
 

Offline EndlessDreams

Re: Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee
« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2011, 10:58 PM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
@athleticchik: HG Series didn't bother me much either, but Angelfall was whole different monster when it comes to gruesomeness. I thnk it bothered me particularly b'coz of violence towards kids. Story is good though, so you could do what I did -- skip the pages / paragraphs that has violence in it.

If I have a chance for a do-over, I'd hold off till we get sequel and then read this book. I don't like it when books ends with sort of cliffhanger. I've got quite a few in my "Wait Till Sequel" shelf :)

Thanks to you both for your help! I think I might take a chance and read it and I'll probably skip those parts if it's too much. :)
Dreams exist so we know what we are capable of becoming ❤
 

Offline Aerinn

Re: Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee
« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2011, 02:00 AM »
Awesome, awesome book!
Nice review Jess! :)
Search button is your best friend. Use it.
If you're in need of assistance, help is a PM away.
 

Muffinpie

  • Guest
Re: Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee
« Reply #7 on: January 28, 2012, 01:17 PM »
Has someone this book in epub? I really really want to read it!
 

Offline jessadia

Re: Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee
« Reply #8 on: January 28, 2012, 09:26 PM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
Has someone this book in epub? I really really want to read it!

Check the Ebook board- it should be there (there's a search bar in the top right. type "Angelfall" and select "entire forum" and "Go") ;)

I'd post it here but uploads are not permitted in the Review section, if you can't find it let me know and I'll either send you the link or post it for you
 

Offline FireWings

  • The Angel Mod
  • Super Moderator
  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Posts: 6073
  • Thanked: 13709 times
  • Rating : 21808
  • It's funnier in Enochian.
Re: Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee
« Reply #9 on: March 08, 2012, 07:55 PM »
LOL and went blindly and I read the book without knowing there were gruesome parts... Yes, they twisted my stomach a lot. But it is such a wonderful book, I can't give a rating below 5, really. ;)
And I cried in the end
Sorry but you are not allowed to view spoiler contents.
, because it was so sad, and it's something I don't wanna experience ever.
I'm totally dying to read the sequel!!!!!
 

Offline Nouda

Re: Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee
« Reply #10 on: April 11, 2012, 04:01 AM »
You guys seriously need to get out and read more if you considered those scenes to be gruesome. Would not recommend to anyone under 16, lolwut? I've read Stephen King's the Mist when I was barely in my teens. This book is overhyped and overrated. It got a barely lukewarm rating of 1.5 (2 stars) from me. The gory scenes....what gory scenes? OH those chicks bitten in half by that shadow monster thing? The wings getting sliced off? *yawn*

Different people, different opinions of course. But if you want to check out what I think about the book, here's my review of it on GoodReads.

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login <-
Nouda - Book Reviewer @ Lanun Reviews: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login | You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login | You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
 

Offline jessadia

Re: Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee
« Reply #11 on: April 11, 2012, 06:44 AM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
You guys seriously need to get out and read more if you considered those scenes to be gruesome. Would not recommend to anyone under 16, lolwut? I've read Stephen King's the Mist when I was barely in my teens. This book is overhyped and overrated. It got a barely lukewarm rating of 1.5 (2 stars) from me. The gory scenes....what gory scenes? OH those chicks bitten in half by that shadow monster thing? The wings getting sliced off? *yawn*

Different people, different opinions of course. But if you want to check out what I think about the book, here's my review of it on GoodReads.

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login <-

Aren't you just a ray of sunshine? I read your review and all I've got to say is that I agree with you on one thing- different people, different opinions. I personally loved the book but I'm not going to defend it unnecessarily, especially when I doubt you'll either listen or be convinced. I did, however, love that you said "pwned" in your review :)
 

Offline Nouda

Re: Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee
« Reply #12 on: April 11, 2012, 06:55 AM »
Tru dat. What can I say? I'm very articulate. :P
Nouda - Book Reviewer @ Lanun Reviews: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login | You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login | You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
 

Offline Aerinn

Re: Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee
« Reply #13 on: April 12, 2012, 07:59 AM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
You guys seriously need to get out and read more if you considered those scenes to be gruesome. Would not recommend to anyone under 16, lolwut? I've read Stephen King's the Mist when I was barely in my teens. This book is overhyped and overrated. It got a barely lukewarm rating of 1.5 (2 stars) from me. The gory scenes....what gory scenes? OH those chicks bitten in half by that shadow monster thing? The wings getting sliced off? *yawn*

Different people, different opinions of course. But if you want to check out what I think about the book, here's my review of it on GoodReads.

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login <-
All I've got to say to this is
De gustibus non est disputandum!
Search button is your best friend. Use it.
If you're in need of assistance, help is a PM away.
 

Offline FireWings

  • The Angel Mod
  • Super Moderator
  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Posts: 6073
  • Thanked: 13709 times
  • Rating : 21808
  • It's funnier in Enochian.
Re: Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee
« Reply #14 on: April 12, 2012, 08:02 AM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
All I've got to say to this is
De gustibus non est disputandum!

Too true! ;)
 

Offline Queen of Blades

Re: Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee
« Reply #15 on: May 17, 2012, 01:25 PM »
I loved it! and while we are at goodreads, i think it deserves to have such a high score....Usually you don't see a heroine who would torture a guy who is already wounded (had his wings cut off) for informations -NOT A SPOILER, DON'T WORRY...first that.....second, it was quite interesting to see angels kinda.......doing the apocalypse attack on people...usually and especially in young adult novels angels are super cute beings with beautiful wings....well, not here :D (except beautiful wings part)
And Raffe......he is awesome :D, and white i found the most amazing thing ever, Penryn never once annoyed me (usually all female characters do, that is why)
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
And I cried in the end
Sorry but you are not allowed to view spoiler contents.
, because it was so sad, and it's something I don't wanna experience ever.
I'm totally dying to read the sequel!!!!!
Uf i cried too, and it was quite shocking for me........well totally didn't expect that "that" would happen
Sorry but you are not allowed to view spoiler contents.
and also, i can wait for it too......i think i read somewhere that it is going to be 5 books series <3
 

Katerandomness

  • Guest
Re: Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee
« Reply #16 on: May 18, 2012, 12:27 AM »
 :'( I didn't expect
Sorry but you are not allowed to view spoiler contents.
I am a cold-blooded bastard, that is what shocked me most. And I love penryn too. I espectially love her when she
Sorry but you are not allowed to view spoiler contents.
 

Offline Queen of Blades

Re: Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee
« Reply #17 on: May 18, 2012, 05:44 AM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
:'( I didn't expect
Sorry but you are not allowed to view spoiler contents.
I am a cold-blooded bastard, that is what shocked me most. And I love penryn too. I espectially love her when she
Sorry but you are not allowed to view spoiler contents.
Agreed, that was quite shocking
Sorry but you are not allowed to view spoiler contents.
hahahaha totally :D
 

Tags:
 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
3 Replies
1813 Views
Last post August 28, 2011, 02:37 PM
by LivingInBooks
5 Replies
3700 Views
Last post April 04, 2012, 11:49 PM
by ilanit1997
6 Replies
2686 Views
Last post June 18, 2012, 04:54 AM
by honeygracey
9 Replies
2152 Views
Last post July 20, 2012, 12:34 PM
by Pollyflanders
248 Replies
59835 Views
Last post November 03, 2016, 01:39 PM
by Kari
3 Replies
1770 Views
Last post April 28, 2013, 02:17 PM
by Delph
0 Replies
1226 Views
Last post July 08, 2014, 10:59 AM
by Gentleman Thug