• October 22, 2017, 11:19 PM
• Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Perusing The Shelves

Author Topic: Review - Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake  (Read 3737 times)

WebUser

  • Guest
Review - Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
« on: October 16, 2011, 11:24 AM »
Review - Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

Score: 4/5

Summary: A young ghost hunter tries to kill the titular ghost haunting the house where she was killed and killing anyone who enters. He fails and has to figure out why the ghost didn't kill him. Various oblivious high school students are killed along the way.

Review: I debated whether this book deserved a 4 or a 5, and finally went with 4 because while there's nothing wrong with the story it's being pushed as horror when it really is not. That said, this is still a very solid, enjoyable book - great writing style, solid plot (and twist), relatable characters (but very weak and limited romance). I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys YA action/adventure novels, particularly supernatural hunting/killing. The problem is that either accidently or deliberately the book seems to be marketed as horror, and I don't think it really fits in that genre. Yeah, there are murderous ghosts, haunted houses, and kids getting ripped apart, but those horror elements are secondary to the action. Without giving away the plot twist or the ending, the story doesn't focus on the group surviving the ghost until sun up/they get out of the haunted house/etc that usual in horror, and not because the author is trying to break conventional horror. And somehow I have a feeling the sequel isn't going to focus on killing more 'bad' ghosts... Bottom line, an enjoyable read, but not exactly horror or all that scary.
 

Advertisement


Offline NicoNico

Re: Review - Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2011, 12:44 AM »
I'm halfway through it and I'm enjoying it so far. It's a horror story to me because of the ripping people apart stuff (it was described in detail). It's definately a scary book, but to be afraid is not the point of it.
 

limesquash

  • Guest
Re: Review - Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2011, 07:24 AM »
Finished reading it last week, personally ill give it a 4.8/5 (a.k.a YOU HAVE TO READ THIS, GODDAMIT) and i would recommend this book to anyone because: its definitely a GREAT READ.
Its a new refreshing genre for me after reading too many vampire/werewolf/fae/other mystical creature related. The plot is indeed unusual and mysterious, you cant help but to feel like you should flip more pages
to see how the mystery is unveiling.
The author is extremely good in describing the scenes(especially the gory ones), in some of the scenes the author managed to scared the shit out of me that i had to sleep with my lights on.
And this book is narrated by the hero, Cas, whos witty, funny and super sarcastic. He's quite believable to be a 17 year old student-slash-ghost hunter.
Very enjoyable, very refreshing read and now i cant wait for the second book in Anna series.
 
The following users thanked this post: [email protected]@dis

Offline marianne03

Re: Review - Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2012, 08:04 AM »
2 thumbs up...need i say more?  ;)
 

Offline Asparagus

Re: Review - Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2012, 04:04 AM »
Thanks for the review!
Ahaha saw this in goodreads but wasn't sure whether to read it. I'm not entirely sure though- horror would be a nice break from the usual werwolves and whatnot, but blood and gore in books are sometimes over the top :(
But yep, definitely gonna try it to find out! :)
'It is likely I will die next to a pile of things I was meaning to read.' - Lemony Snicket
 

Offline redandaris

Re: Review - Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
« Reply #5 on: February 06, 2012, 04:20 AM »
I read it months ago and loved it. But as great as it was, I don't feel like a sequel is needed. I'll try it anyway but I'm a tad afraid to be disappointed.
"Okay. Based on what I know about zombies, the safest place to hide is in a small, dark room with creepy lighting."
Kowalski, The Penguins of Madagascar
 

Offline iamcalypso

Re: Review - Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2012, 07:54 PM »
I loved this book!
It is not like the other books that I've read. Even though the ending is sad, it leaves a feeling of contentment.  ;)
Saying thank you is more than good manners.  It is good spirituality. 
~Alfred Painter
 

Offline iamcalypso

Re: Review - Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2012, 07:58 PM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
I read it months ago and loved it. But as great as it was, I don't feel like a sequel is needed. I'll try it anyway but I'm a tad afraid to be disappointed.

Yeah, I also think that the first book is enough and am a little afraid that the second book will not be as great. At the same time, I am also excited. XD
Saying thank you is more than good manners.  It is good spirituality. 
~Alfred Painter
 

Offline Queen of Blades

Re: Review - Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
« Reply #8 on: May 17, 2012, 01:17 PM »
I loved anna :) (and i do mean both book and ANNA)...oh i loved Cas, and it was really nice for a change to see a male point of view, i mean, almost all young adults are female pov and it's kinda killing me T_T
That, and also i was quite impressed with ripping people appart.... )just didn't expect that
Also it was great read and pretty much entertaining....oh and somehow, all that ghost busting things reminded me of first two seasons of supernatural xD
 

tanvi8706

  • Guest
Re: Review - Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2012, 06:15 AM »
awesome!!
am not really a fan of horror so was debating weather to read it or not.guess i can pick it up now  :laugh:
 

anzuk

  • Guest
Re: Review - Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
« Reply #10 on: August 12, 2012, 06:30 AM »
I love this series  :)
 

Offline Queen of Blades

Re: Review - Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
« Reply #11 on: August 17, 2012, 05:03 AM »
I just read second one and i am hyper over it XD I wish they make this a series/movies, and it would make great horror, especially the part in the wood
Sorry but you are not allowed to view spoiler contents.
Seriously, this author is the only horror author who makes me afraid XD
 

Offline XannaRoth

Re: Review - Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
« Reply #12 on: May 27, 2013, 09:27 AM »
I'm currently reading it. I'd say I'm a third of the way through, and I have to admit, I'm really not impressed so far. The part where Cas and the group entered the house was good and interesting, but that's about the limit for any good things I can say about this book. Overall, it's been boring and I've found myself skipping pages while Cas has his dull, dragged-out internal monologues. This book just hasn't gotten me caring about the main protagonist. I'm hoping it gets better.
 

Tags:
 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
0 Replies
1105 Views
Last post October 29, 2012, 06:29 AM
by iamcalypso