• March 30, 2017, 01:19 PM
• Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Perusing The Shelves

Author Topic: review : Chronicles of Nick: infinity  (Read 2621 times)

Offline intuition

  • Alumni Moderator
  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 1060
  • Posts: 221
  • Rating : 1683
review : Chronicles of Nick: infinity
« on: August 21, 2011, 12:37 PM »
Name of the book: Chronicles of Nick: infinity book 1

Genre: supernatural/demons YA

Book publish year:May 25, 2010

Rating (out of 5): 4

Brief intro (optional): this is the blurb for it on the site ;
At 14, Nick Gautier is an average kid who runs with the wrong crowd. But on the night he decides to go straight and refuses to mug an innocent tourist, his crew turns on him and just as he thinks his life is over… a new one begins.

Kyrian of Thrace isn’t just a vampire slayer, he’s a Dark-Hunter and he introduces Nick to a world that he never imagined.

With new enemies who make his old ones look like wimps, Nick must either measure up or get sized for a body bag. It’s kill or be killed and this kid who was born on the wrong side finds a strength inside him that he never knew existed.

Now if he can only find someone to help battle the demons that don’t reside inside...

Your review: I got this book on a whim, it's wasn't something I sought out to read but was pleasantly surprised. It kept me up till 4am reading it to find out what happened. It's been awhile since a book has done that. It's not your typical "oh that's a demon, it's evil we kill that" type of book. It goes into some depth on who the characters are and who the demons are, and not all are the black and white evil we think of. There's enough mystery wrapped up in it to keep you wondering well into the second book just what is what, but not too much that it gets tedious.

Characters:
Nick: the main character, and a witty one at that. Born poor and to a stripper for a mom, is a relatively relate able character. Some of his character traits are a bit wonky at first but i felt reasonably explained. His relationship with his mother borders a bit on the creepy side, but never really oversteps that.

Bubba and Mark: Fantastic characters. Think that crazy guy down the street who believes in aliens. Kinda like the comedy relief. I get a bit confused on what they know and what they don't know though. I think that's an error in writing, but we'll see.

There's other side characters, like Kyrian and Archeron, but they aren't really developed here. We get tidbits on who they are, and their general alignments, they are very much side characters.  Same with Nekoda, barely developed and shrouded in much half told background scenes on her. I've read the second one in this series and more is explained, so don't let this deter you from reading this. I think this is very much a series, with long term developing characters versus contained books.

It's just nice to have a paranormal/fantasy like book that isn't drenched in romance. There is some romance but its very minor and believable.

I highly recommend this for anyone :)
don't forget the thank you button! it makes me feel special ;)
 

Offline intuition

  • Alumni Moderator
  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 1060
  • Posts: 221
  • Rating : 1683

Offline LivingInBooks

  • Alumni Moderator
  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 12
  • -Receive: 1426
  • Posts: 1265
  • Rating : 4455
Re: review : Chronicles of Nick: infinity
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2011, 02:12 PM »
Hmm..I considered reading this book long time back, but it sounded like a prequel (for someother adult paranormal book). After reading your review...I am thinking, may be I should add it back to my TBR pile :)
 

Offline intuition

  • Alumni Moderator
  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 1060
  • Posts: 221
  • Rating : 1683
Re: review : Chronicles of Nick: infinity
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2011, 02:23 PM »
Well to be honest, the author had another series called dark-hunters that is talk about a bit in this book. I have not read dark hunters so once I do I'll report back. As far as I can gather this is same world but stand alone.
don't forget the thank you button! it makes me feel special ;)
 

Offline jessadia

  • Alumni Moderator
  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 54
  • -Receive: 1545
  • Posts: 5249
  • Thanked: 1 times
  • Rating : 6171
Re: review : Chronicles of Nick: infinity
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2011, 01:34 PM »
I must say that I have a paper copy of this book and have tried reading it several times but found that I couldn't get beyond the 3rd chapter. To me, it was very mediocre and didn't capture or hold my attention. I put it away in the "when i run out of books to read" section of my books.
 

Offline LivingInBooks

  • Alumni Moderator
  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 12
  • -Receive: 1426
  • Posts: 1265
  • Rating : 4455
Re: review : Chronicles of Nick: infinity
« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2011, 02:16 PM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
I must say that I have a paper copy of this book and have tried reading it several times but found that I couldn't get beyond the 3rd chapter. To me, it was very mediocre and didn't capture or hold my attention. I put it away in the "when i run out of books to read" section of my books.

Ahh that's what I thought when I read summary. I am a die hard fan for YA PNR, and it didn't sound much like romance, so I droped it. But you never know if I ever get tired of Romance stuff, I can always hop over to just paranormal :)

I too have that 'For Desperate Times' shelf, though I am not sure I'll ever get to them.
 

Offline intuition

  • Alumni Moderator
  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 1060
  • Posts: 221
  • Rating : 1683
Re: review : Chronicles of Nick: infinity
« Reply #5 on: August 24, 2011, 05:39 PM »
Me, I enjoyed it. I liked the different demons, and the whodunnit nature of the book(s). Although I suppose i should have a disclaimer that there are few books that I don't enjoy in at least one aspect. In fact I can only think of two series that just killed me to read/attempt to read. One was the beautiful creatures series by kami garcia I think? I actually read and finished the first two but it was such a struggle. I found it boring and meh. adn the other surprisingly was the Thirst series by christopher pike. I got through 1/3 of the first book omnibus thing, and hated teh main character so much i put it down. I do intend to try it again, we'll see if that happens.

But I'm the same way with movies, I'll be critical of it, but on some level I enjoy most of them. ( i like waterworld, no one else does LOL) So while I try to be true to the styling, and I believe i said that it was written for a bit younger then i like to read, I'll generally be favorable. I do try and be critical too, but eh.
don't forget the thank you button! it makes me feel special ;)
 

Offline LivingInBooks

  • Alumni Moderator
  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 12
  • -Receive: 1426
  • Posts: 1265
  • Rating : 4455
Re: review : Chronicles of Nick: infinity
« Reply #6 on: August 24, 2011, 06:01 PM »
Ahh I didn't think there were many who didn't like Beautiful Darkness. I also didn't like that series much either. First one was okay but second one just about killed me. I don't know if I want to read the third one.
Thirst was giving out "Stay away" vibes for me, so I did :)
 

Offline intuition

  • Alumni Moderator
  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 1060
  • Posts: 221
  • Rating : 1683
Re: review : Chronicles of Nick: infinity
« Reply #7 on: August 24, 2011, 06:23 PM »
Haha I think your the first I've met who doesn't like it either. Thirst I don't think has a bad story the main character vampire is so pompous and obnoxious I couldn't find any redeeming qualities in what I read. Part of why I do intend to try it again. But it is on that desperate to read something shelf, and with as many as I've hoarded it will be a long time before I run out lol!
don't forget the thank you button! it makes me feel special ;)
 

Offline jessadia

  • Alumni Moderator
  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 54
  • -Receive: 1545
  • Posts: 5249
  • Thanked: 1 times
  • Rating : 6171
Re: review : Chronicles of Nick: infinity
« Reply #8 on: August 25, 2011, 03:15 PM »
I must agree that I did not like Beautiful Creatures much either (never finished the first book- same with Infinity it's on the "desperate" shelf) but I have read the Thirst series and I thought it was okay (I'd give it a 3.5 out of 5)- although I did read them when they first came out when I was still "young" lol so that may have had something to do with it!
 

Offline Queen of Blades

  • PTS Contributor
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2763
  • -Receive: 456
  • Posts: 181
  • Rating : 507
Re: review : Chronicles of Nick: infinity
« Reply #9 on: May 17, 2012, 01:37 PM »
As the one who actually read Dark hunters, i must say that it is quite closely connected to the Nick's chronicles....
Especially since Nick in DH is really important character, and everything that is happening now is different (which is the point) but characters do stay the same. For example, Kyrian and  Acheron have their own books(while here you just get a hint of their pasts,and i doubt that they would ever be explained), and they are really well done characters, and those two were and always will be my ultimate favorites in DH, and Acheron is my ultimate fav all in all.
But, DH is all about their world and mythology while Nick's books focus on both future and past that overlap with original plotline..... And that is quite a spoiler after you read Infamous....or if you read DH up to the book Seize the Night (Dark-Hunter, #6)-which is quite the main focus of the Chronicles of Nick books....
But if you read it separately, it really is kinda unique, but not as good as her Dark hunter series.
As for the romance, believe me, there will be romance xD
 

Offline Nouda

  • PTS Addict
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 133
  • -Receive: 104
  • Posts: 79
  • Rating : 115
Re: review : Chronicles of Nick: infinity
« Reply #10 on: July 03, 2012, 03:21 AM »
Fans of her Dark Hunters series are more likely to connect with the book. Nick is basically the "Endbringer" (my personal term for him) of the entire Dark Hunter universe, and one of the most interesting characters. The fate of everyone else is in his hands. The Chronicles of Nick tells his story.
Nouda - Book Reviewer @ Lanun Reviews: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login | You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login | You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
 

Tags:
 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
2 Replies
2226 Views
Last post August 25, 2011, 09:02 PM
by LivingInBooks
9 Replies
3214 Views
Last post October 16, 2011, 12:45 PM
by FireWings
1 Replies
4041 Views
Last post January 30, 2012, 04:11 AM
by Rena
1 Replies
1745 Views
Last post January 24, 2012, 04:34 AM
by Tinkledeath
0 Replies
1376 Views
Last post February 16, 2012, 10:25 AM
by Aquarise