• May 25, 2017, 03:43 AM
• Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Perusing The Shelves

Author Topic: Review: Daughter of smoke and bone by Laini Taylor  (Read 1704 times)

Offline Queen of Blades

  • PTS Contributor
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2780
  • -Receive: 460
  • Posts: 181
  • Rating : 511
Review: Daughter of smoke and bone by Laini Taylor
« on: May 17, 2012, 02:05 PM »
Name of the book: Daughter of smoke and bone by by Laini Taylor

Genre:
YA-paranormal, Fantasy, Magic, Angels, Demons

Book publish year (optional): September 1st 2011

Rating (out of 5): 5

Brief intro (optional):  (intro taken from goodreads.com)
Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.
In a dark and dusty shop, a devil's supply of human teeth grown dangerously low.
And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.
Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real; she's prone to disappearing on mysterious "errands"; she speaks many languages—not all of them human; and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she's about to find out.
When one of the strangers—beautiful, haunted Akiva—fixes his fire-colored eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

Your review: (taken partly from my You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login)

Once upon a time,
an angel and a devil fell in love.
It did not end well.


First of all, this book is something i have never seen before, not typical angels/demons paranormal young adult book, but something far more original and quite interesting.
Karou, not quite a 17 year old normal girl (but tries to appear as one), goes to school and tries to get over of her ex-boyfriend. She likes to paint supernatural beings - half animals half humans. But in the meantime she does weird jobs for her family. Collecting teeth is not quite the job that a "normal" (naturally blue haied) girl does almost everyday,especially when her family is a four member Chimaera, the ones that she drew. She is surrounded by magic, and her life is filled with weird things. And while she was out doing her job in Prague, one angel -Akiva- tried to kill her.
Somehow, i wasn't quite impressed in the beginning; for it was really confusing. After a while, everything seem to be understandable and i discovered a rare gem in the sea of books. Especially when Akiva appeared everything seemed to be in perfect shape and the you could finally understand the story.
In the end it was  5 stars; the ending was really something i didn't quite expect, not to mention it was interesting...The idea was cool, but there was something that really blew me away O_O.
IT just had everything i loved, tragedy, love[interesting couple], supernatural stuff, killings-blood and gore, very weird creatures ♥, and ofc NO LOVE TRIANGLE XDDD

As for the characters, i really enjoyed reading a book which has no literally boring people...Karou is interesting, she draws, she is weird and she is absolutely....how to say it......in some way as confusing as it sounds. AND SHE DOESNT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT HER, who she is, what she is, and how she came to be adopted into the family of four demons.
Akiva, on the other side, is a rock. You really might say that about him, but also a really broken and tortured soul. And he has a reaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaally painful, tortured and horrible past, and i meant that seriously. So he tries to be cold blood killer, merciless and afterall reaaaaaaaaaally gorgeous son of a beeeeeep. Also, he is not the typical angel.
P.S. Girls, you will love Akiva ♥♥♥♥♥
Other characters were really interesting, not boring in any way and they actually make the book even better :)

I recommend it to people over 16 years

Just for your information, the formula of this book is: underworld3+romeoxjuliet=daughter of smoke and bone

 

Offline Queen of Blades

  • PTS Contributor
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2780
  • -Receive: 460
  • Posts: 181
  • Rating : 511

Offline Katerandomness

  • PTS Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 18
  • Rating : 4
Re: Review: Daughter of smoke and bone by Laini Taylor
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2012, 12:16 AM »
I definitely agree that it is a good book. I feel sorry for Akiva.
Sorry but you are not allowed to view spoiler contents.
Sigh.
 

Offline Queen of Blades

  • PTS Contributor
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2780
  • -Receive: 460
  • Posts: 181
  • Rating : 511
Re: Review: Daughter of smoke and bone by Laini Taylor
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2012, 05:41 AM »
@Katerandomness
Yeah, me too....... and i was quite shocked at the end
Sorry but you are not allowed to view spoiler contents.
believe me i forgot her name too xD (but you know that part too is quite of a spoiler xD Yep i agree, but still, it was one of the best books i have read in a while XD
 

Offline hudasee

  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 533
  • -Receive: 833
  • Posts: 477
  • Rating : 1068
  • ^if you got detention, that's the way you do it!
Re: Review: Daughter of smoke and bone by Laini Taylor
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2012, 08:06 PM »
woot!

just finished this last night, torturing my eyes even if i promise to read it until friday. I like your review. This isn't the typical book I've always read although it has the elements I really like about romance - tragic, two beings from opposite sides, war between their own people, struggle about their beliefs and feelings, etc

What I really like about the book was the description of characters. The author did well. Although some might think the flow of the story is so slow, they would definitely change their minds when they learned about the ending. I never thought this one would have a sequel; I thought its just a standalone novel. Surprise! surprise!

About the characters... Karou rocks  :You_Rock_Emoticon: hell she can kick ass, she has her own moments here, vulnerable sometimes but strong enough... Akiva, the tortured hero. Brimstone, I can imagine him
Sorry but you are not allowed to view spoiler contents.
and Issa.

So won't be mentioning anymore about the plot or so; overall, this is one hell of a great book.  I recommend it to those who appreciate romance and paranormal (about angels and demons only)
Wrath to Butch: That's you. You shall be called the Black Dagger warrior Dhestroyer....
Rhage: But you'll always be Butch to us, as well as hard-ass. Smart-ass. Royal pain in the ass... I think as long as there's an ASS in there, it'll be accurate.
Zhadist: How about bASStard?

^LOL :P
 

Offline Queen of Blades

  • PTS Contributor
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2780
  • -Receive: 460
  • Posts: 181
  • Rating : 511
Re: Review: Daughter of smoke and bone by Laini Taylor
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2012, 01:55 PM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
woot!

just finished this last night, torturing my eyes even if i promise to read it until friday. I like your review. This isn't the typical book I've always read although it has the elements I really like about romance - tragic, two beings from opposite sides, war between their own people, struggle about their beliefs and feelings, etc

What I really like about the book was the description of characters. The author did well. Although some might think the flow of the story is so slow, they would definitely change their minds when they learned about the ending. I never thought this one would have a sequel; I thought its just a standalone novel. Surprise! surprise!

About the characters... Karou rocks  :You_Rock_Emoticon: hell she can kick ass, she has her own moments here, vulnerable sometimes but strong enough... Akiva, the tortured hero. Brimstone, I can imagine him
Sorry but you are not allowed to view spoiler contents.
and Issa.

So won't be mentioning anymore about the plot or so; overall, this is one hell of a great book.  I recommend it to those who appreciate romance and paranormal (about angels and demons only)

Thank you! Glad you liked it :)

I agree, the characters are pretty much awesome :) Yes it has a sequel :) and i can't wait for it :)
and it is called Days of Blood and Starlight
and look at the cover ♥♥


Yes, i think the same about that, and about brimstone too =_=

♥♥♥
« Last Edit: June 25, 2012, 01:57 PM by Queen of Blades »
 

Offline hudasee

  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 533
  • -Receive: 833
  • Posts: 477
  • Rating : 1068
  • ^if you got detention, that's the way you do it!
Re: Review: Daughter of smoke and bone by Laini Taylor
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2012, 10:05 PM »
Wow, awesome cover. I can't wait.  :)

 >:D I should definitely try to save right now for a hardcover.  >:D
Wrath to Butch: That's you. You shall be called the Black Dagger warrior Dhestroyer....
Rhage: But you'll always be Butch to us, as well as hard-ass. Smart-ass. Royal pain in the ass... I think as long as there's an ASS in there, it'll be accurate.
Zhadist: How about bASStard?

^LOL :P
 

Offline Queen of Blades

  • PTS Contributor
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2780
  • -Receive: 460
  • Posts: 181
  • Rating : 511
Re: Review: Daughter of smoke and bone by Laini Taylor
« Reply #6 on: July 03, 2012, 04:22 AM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

 >:D I should definitely try to save right now for a hardcover.  >:D

if it ever appeared in my country, i wouldn't hesitate buying it ♥
 

Offline hudasee

  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 533
  • -Receive: 833
  • Posts: 477
  • Rating : 1068
  • ^if you got detention, that's the way you do it!
Re: Review: Daughter of smoke and bone by Laini Taylor
« Reply #7 on: July 04, 2012, 10:45 PM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
if it ever appeared in my country, i wouldn't hesitate buying it ♥

yeah, in my case, probably Ill order it online or try to persuade my cousin to buy and send it to me. But that will take a lot of moolah!  ???
Wrath to Butch: That's you. You shall be called the Black Dagger warrior Dhestroyer....
Rhage: But you'll always be Butch to us, as well as hard-ass. Smart-ass. Royal pain in the ass... I think as long as there's an ASS in there, it'll be accurate.
Zhadist: How about bASStard?

^LOL :P