• January 22, 2017, 10:26 PM
• Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Perusing The Shelves

Author Topic: Review: Hopeless by Colleen Hoover  (Read 1324 times)

Offline lulu7005

  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8654
  • -Receive: 12783
  • Posts: 7587
  • Rating : 14592
  • Might is right. Possession is 9/10 of the law.
Review: Hopeless by Colleen Hoover
« on: March 14, 2013, 03:41 AM »
Book: Hopeless
Genre: Young Adult
Published year: 2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 (**)
The blurb:
Sometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies…
That’s what seventeen-year-old Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of just one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past that she wishes could just stay buried.
Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever.

My review:

Ok, don't kill me but for me, Hopeless was mostly an over the top book. To be honest, after reading the first chapter I was afraid that it would be a 1 star book, but then luckily things got better unfortunately not that better. What prevented me from really enjoying Hopeless is not so much the YA genre or the predictability of the story, that the over use of tragic/traumatic events.

Seriously? How many of those an author can use in one single book?
Sorry but you are not allowed to view spoiler contents.
If this isn't over use of tragic/traumatic events I don't know how to call it.

I'm sad to say that I had much more pleasure reading some of the beautiful reviews written about it than reading the book itself.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2013, 03:09 AM by lulu7005 »
 

Offline lulu7005

  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8654
  • -Receive: 12783
  • Posts: 7587
  • Rating : 14592
  • Might is right. Possession is 9/10 of the law.

Offline 4myeyesonly

  • Alumni Moderator
  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6318
  • -Receive: 40306
  • Posts: 5642
  • Rating : 46818
Re: Review: Hopeless by Colleen Hoover
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2013, 07:56 AM »
This book is way over rated. The worst part is, we are now fpgoing to be getting the same story only told from Holden's POV, like we really need that.  :-[
 

Offline lylajensen

  • PTS Friend
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Receive: 312
  • Posts: 23
  • Rating : 488
Re: Review: Hopeless by Colleen Hoover
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2013, 07:39 AM »
Thank you for the review and thanks, but no thanks. LOL I'm not gonna read this one.   ;D
 

Offline ♥love♥

  • Naughty Mod
  • Super Moderator
  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 102112
  • -Receive: 77227
  • Posts: 12077
  • Rating : 65349
Re: Review: Hopeless by Colleen Hoover
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2013, 11:12 PM »
WHAT!!!!   ???
All I have to say is I am glad I stopped by this Review
I knew Lulu did not dig this book but I thougt she was the 1 in a million that didn't & now I have rotty agreeing
What is this world coming too  :P ;)

Alright JK I know everyone had different things to say about this book but I loved it
I thought it was really good and I read it in a day cause I couldn't put it down.
Rating: 5 out of 5 (*****)
That said I will tell you a little funny story about this book. So my girl Frenchy B-day is in 2 days and I knew she loved this book as much as me. So I go on the hunt for it at my favorite 3 book stores by my house and end up at my last but favorite New/2nd hand book store and look for it cause I haven't found it yet. Well after searching I have a employ look for it in there system and then he looks at me funny and has a huge smirk on his face and I am like WHAT and the guy laughs. (cause he knows I have looked everywhere for it)
THE BOOK IS ONLY OUT IN EBOOK NOT PAPERBACK UNTIL May 7, 2013 (Nice waste of 6 hours, well not really cause I did get some great other books)
I swear sometimes I need to take a break from my little world of my kindle. I love eBooks so much I get lost in them.
Well that was my idiot of the day experience I am sure that I will have more

For anyone that wants to try this book here are some links for you
Hopeless by Colleen Hoover
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Losing Hope (Hopeless #2) Publication Date: July 9, 2013  :dance:
« Last Edit: March 19, 2013, 11:25 PM by ♥love♥ »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
 

Offline lulu7005

  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8654
  • -Receive: 12783
  • Posts: 7587
  • Rating : 14592
  • Might is right. Possession is 9/10 of the law.
Re: Review: Hopeless by Colleen Hoover
« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2013, 02:39 AM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
WHAT!!!!   ???
All I have to say is I am glad I stopped by this Review
I knew Lulu did not dig this book but I thougt she was the 1 in a million that didn't & now I have rotty agreeing
What is this world coming too  :P ;)

Alright JK I know everyone had different things to say about this book but I loved it
I thought it was really good and I read it in a day cause I couldn't put it down.
Rating: 5 out of 5 (*****)
That said I will tell you a little funny story about this book. So my girl Frenchy B-day is in 2 days and I knew she loved this book as much as me. So I go on the hunt for it at my favorite 3 book stores by my house and end up at my last but favorite New/2nd hand book store and look for it cause I haven't found it yet. Well after searching I have a employ look for it in there system and then he looks at me funny and has a huge smirk on his face and I am like WHAT and the guy laughs. (cause he knows I have looked everywhere for it)
THE BOOK IS ONLY OUT IN EBOOK NOT PAPERBACK UNTIL May 7, 2013 (Nice waste of 6 hours, well not really cause I did get some great other books)
I swear sometimes I need to take a break from my little world of my kindle. I love eBooks so much I get lost in them.
Well that was my idiot of the day experience I am sure that I will have more

For anyone that wants to try this book here are some links for you
Hopeless by Colleen Hoover
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Losing Hope (Hopeless #2) Publication Date: July 9, 2013  :dance:

 :D :D :D
 

Tags: