• December 12, 2017, 06:04 AM
• Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Perusing The Shelves

Author Topic: Review: Tris & Izzie by Mette Ivie Harrison  (Read 1813 times)

Offline Poprad

  • Bad-Ass Assassin Mod
  • Alumni Moderator
  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Posts: 3593
  • Thanked: 35601 times
  • Rating : 45118
  • ♥♥ Pop-a-Lops ♥♥
    • I do exist!
Review: Tris & Izzie by Mette Ivie Harrison
« on: August 28, 2011, 01:31 PM »
Name of the book: Tris & Izzie by Mette Ivie Harrison
Genre: YA - Fantasy & Romance
Book publish year (optional): October 11th, 2011

Rating (out of 5): * / ***** (1 / 5 - and that's me being generous)

Brief intro (optional):
A modern retelling of the German fairy tale "Tristan and Isolde," Tris and Izzie is about a young witch named Izzie who is dating Mark King, the captain of the basketball team and thinks her life is going swimmingly well. Until -- she makes a love potion for her best friend Brangane and then ends up taking it herself accidentally, and falling in love with Tristan, the new guy at school.

Your review:
Do not be fooled by the gorgeousness of the cover, because it lies. It's all just a mirage. The cover is just a glamour in place to make you think and believe you should read this book.

Please heed my warning! Don't read it! I implore you to not even look at it for fear of giving into the temptation of the beautiful cover! It will suck the life out of you and then leave you at the brink of insanity.

The book is just so poorly written. The dialogue is all so cheesy and unnatural that it all got to be too unbelievable. There was no flow to the writing. This caused the plot line to falter on so many occasions because the author tried to make up for it by throwing in a couple of kisses or phony lines to keep it moving. It made for a lot of confusion on my part and got to the point where I just couldn't stand it. By the end of the first chapter I was physically loathing the book.

The characters aren't even fragments of what I hoped they would be. They were all lacking in the emotion department because their emotions were either so wildly out of proportion or they lacked any at all. And the relationships were so dysfunctional, they ranged from borderline psychotic and chaotic to sickeningly overdramatic and random. Because of this, I couldn't relate to ANY of the characters AT ALL.

I had high hopes for this book but they were unforgivably dashed by the end of it. The only reason I kept reading was because I have this need to finish books in their entirety. It just feels wrong to me to leave a book halfway through, and since I reviewed this one I had to read the whole thing. But I had to force myself and my only justification to giving it one star is because the cover is just too damn pretty to say no to. Otherwise I would have been putting up negative stars. But that's just my opinion. You can make up your own if you decide to do what I have now deemed the unthinkable: read the book.

But just remember: Ye have been warned.
 

Advertisement


Offline LivingInBooks

Re: Review: Tris & Izzie by Mette Ivie Harrison
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2011, 01:48 PM »
Ha Ha...I hear ya. I saw soo many bad reviews for this one. I got this as ARC from Net galley, but I didn't read it. Sometimes despite bad reviews I still end up reading them, purely out of curiousity (like how bad can it be), but this one I stayed away....Thank God :)

Now you have to read something REALLY good to erase it.
 

Offline Poprad

  • Bad-Ass Assassin Mod
  • Alumni Moderator
  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Posts: 3593
  • Thanked: 35601 times
  • Rating : 45118
  • ♥♥ Pop-a-Lops ♥♥
    • I do exist!
Re: Review: Tris & Izzie by Mette Ivie Harrison
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2011, 02:35 PM »
I know. Am starting TMI City of Bones ASAP! :D
 

Offline LivingInBooks

Re: Review: Tris & Izzie by Mette Ivie Harrison
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2011, 02:37 PM »
Can't get any better than that :D
 

Tags:
 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
25 Replies
19719 Views
Last post August 25, 2008, 07:40 AM
by gkunalin
17 Replies
5445 Views
Last post May 18, 2012, 05:44 AM
by Queen of Blades