• March 23, 2017, 07:08 PM
• Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Perusing The Shelves

Author Topic: Review: White Cat by Holly Black  (Read 1927 times)

Offline NicoNico

  • PTS Contributor
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 174
  • -Receive: 537
  • Posts: 191
  • Rating : 688
Review: White Cat by Holly Black
« on: October 15, 2011, 06:02 AM »
Name of the book: White Cat (by Holly Black)
Genre: supernatural, YA
Book publish year: 2010
Rating: 5/5

My review:
I think this book should be more popular than it is. I didn't like any other books by Holly Black, but this one is one of my favourite books ever :)

What I really liked about White Cat:
- it's written from a male POV (Cassel's)
- Cassel's clever, but he miscalculates very often
- he comes from a "gifted" family, but he himself doesn't have a "gift" and is a bit jealous of his brothers
- there's a tiny bit of romance
- there's a bit of private high school setting
- Cassel's love interest likes to bully him
- the theme! mafia and crime families!
- the world! every single person is wearing gloves!
- the plot twist in the middle of the book! I haven't seen that coming!
- the finale is just AMAZING!

What I didn't like about White Cat:
- it's hard to get into this book; the beginning is seriously confusing (albeit very interesting - Cassel wakes up half-naked on edge of a roof)
- it's too detailed at times; the details make it hard to follow the main plot

I recommend this books to everyone :)
« Last Edit: October 16, 2011, 08:55 AM by NicoNico »
 

Offline NicoNico

  • PTS Contributor
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 174
  • -Receive: 537
  • Posts: 191
  • Rating : 688

Offline FireWings

  • The Angel Mod
  • Super Moderator
  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5091
  • -Receive: 19857
  • Posts: 6848
  • Rating : 21540
  • It's funnier in Enochian.
Re: Review: White Cat by Holly Black
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2011, 08:52 AM »
Thanks, NicoNico! :D I've 3 books by Holly but never got to touch them! I'll try this one first; sounds interesting :)
 

Offline Aerinn

  • Alumni Moderator
  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 2956
  • Posts: 4166
  • Rating : 6097
Re: Review: White Cat by Holly Black
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2011, 09:03 AM »
Will you all look at me funny if I say that this:

- it's hard to get into this book; the beginning is seriously confusing (albeit very interesting - Cassel wakes up half-naked on edge of a roof)

made me very interested in this book? LOL
I know, I'm a perv. :P

Thanks for the review, Nico, I have this book on my TR list (surprise, surprise), but I think I'll get around to it faster now. :P
Search button is your best friend. Use it.
If you're in need of assistance, help is a PM away.
 

Offline NicoNico

  • PTS Contributor
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 174
  • -Receive: 537
  • Posts: 191
  • Rating : 688
Re: Review: White Cat by Holly Black
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2011, 09:17 AM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
Will you all look at me funny if I say that this:

- it's hard to get into this book; the beginning is seriously confusing (albeit very interesting - Cassel wakes up half-naked on edge of a roof)

made me very interested in this book? LOL
I know, I'm a perv. :P

Thanks for the review, Nico, I have this book on my TR list (surprise, surprise), but I think I'll get around to it faster now. :P

LOL, I don't blame you! It's what kept me reading :D
Cassel gets naked at least one more time from what I remember... (Or that might have happened in the sequel...) Anyway, it's a fun book :) It has some humor too.
 

Offline FireWings

  • The Angel Mod
  • Super Moderator
  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5091
  • -Receive: 19857
  • Posts: 6848
  • Rating : 21540
  • It's funnier in Enochian.
Re: Review: White Cat by Holly Black
« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2011, 09:33 AM »
@Aerinn
Don't worry,guess that makes two of us :o j/k This book must fun, right Nico? ;) *wicked smile*
@NicoNico
Is this a series,then? :-/ I'm kinda done w/ series... I miss a stand-alone book *sigh* (What's the problem w/ the good ol' stand-alones??) BTW, how many sequels are there to White Cat ?
 

Offline NicoNico

  • PTS Contributor
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 174
  • -Receive: 537
  • Posts: 191
  • Rating : 688
Re: Review: White Cat by Holly Black
« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2011, 09:50 AM »
Oh, it is very fun indeed :> *smiles back at FireWings *

Well, it is a series; it's going to be 3 books. Two are out, the 3rd one is to be published in 2012, April. But don't let that discourage you! White Cat is really worth it!
« Last Edit: August 23, 2012, 07:36 AM by FireWings »
 

Offline FireWings

  • The Angel Mod
  • Super Moderator
  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5091
  • -Receive: 19857
  • Posts: 6848
  • Rating : 21540
  • It's funnier in Enochian.
Re: Review: White Cat by Holly Black
« Reply #6 on: October 16, 2011, 10:28 AM »
Thanks for the info, Nico! ;D IDK why, but I think trilogies are the best kind of series. I'll put it on my TR list ;)
 

Tags:
 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
0 Replies
2065 Views
Last post December 10, 2007, 08:08 AM
by anurag08
9 Replies
1967 Views
Last post July 20, 2012, 12:34 PM
by Pollyflanders
0 Replies
876 Views
Last post December 11, 2012, 01:34 PM
by Globalt38