• July 26, 2017, 09:35 AM
• Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Perusing The Shelves

Author Topic: The Fault In Our Stars - John Green  (Read 5133 times)

Offline Faaye

  • PTS Friend
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 17
  • -Receive: 18
  • Posts: 34
  • Rating : 36
  • I live in a nebula.
    • Blog
The Fault In Our Stars - John Green
« on: April 24, 2012, 08:27 PM »
I just finished this book, and I can honestly say I have never cried more in my entire life.
I'm not going to give away any spoilers, but if you decide to read it, be prepared with a box of Kleenex and a happier book for after so you don't fall into depression.
Basically this book is about two teenagers (Augustus and Hazel) battling cancer. They end up falling in love and sharing their days together. I won't tell you how it ends, I know some of you will be skeptical about reading a book with dying kids that are in love. Trust me, I was too, but after reading this book, no other novel could live up to the expectations that I have now.
If my life was a Supernatural episode, all conflict would be resolved with food and Dean Winchester.
 

Advertisement


Offline Stairlight ✈

  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 71
  • -Receive: 98
  • Posts: 287
  • Rating : 233
Re: The Fault In Our Stars - John Green
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2012, 06:04 AM »
ooooh thanks! :-) I'm moving this up my to-read list.
(¯`v´¯)
.`·.¸.☾·´ ♥¸.·´¸.·´✧¨)               
and Տtars got ʈangled in her hair, whёnever she played in the Տky.
                       (¸.·´ (¸.·´.·¨¯`· .·¸¸(¸.✧·´ .·¨¯`·.·¸¸(¸.·´ .(¸.·´ .·✧¸¸(¸.·´·¸¸.·¨¯`·.♥
 

Offline Katerandomness

  • PTS Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 18
  • Rating : 4
Re: The Fault In Our Stars - John Green
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2012, 12:18 PM »
I was tempted to read this book because of the book title: The Fault In Our Stars. It reminds me of my favourite Shakespearen quote: "The fault, dear Brutus, is not in our stars, But in ourselves, that we are underlings."

But I don't want to read it 'cause it apparently is going to make me cry :'(
 

Offline emziiz

  • PTS Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 2
  • Rating : 0
Re: The Fault In Our Stars - John Green
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2012, 05:18 PM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
I was tempted to read this book because of the book title: The Fault In Our Stars. It reminds me of my favourite Shakespearen quote: "The fault, dear Brutus, is not in our stars, But in ourselves, that we are underlings."

But I don't want to read it 'cause it apparently is going to make me cry :'(
the book has a lot of quotes, and the quote you just mentioned was the soul reason for the title. Read this book, it is the best thing you will ever read, I swear on my mothers life
 

Offline anky0112

  • PTS Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 5
  • Rating : 0
Re: The Fault In Our Stars - John Green
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2012, 11:37 AM »
I agree ... I haven't cried more, I know where the story is heading and I can't bring myself to read it. Just thinking about it moister my eyes. I have read "easy" by Tammara Webber to cheer me up, can't take my mind off the story "fault of our stars". Hope I can bring myself to complete it soon. Its one of those story which you don't just read but feel and live into.
 

Offline Lizzie St Clair

  • PTS Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 1
  • Rating : 0
Re: The Fault In Our Stars - John Green
« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2012, 01:18 AM »
so sad u.u
 

Offline faceofthedragon

  • PTS Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 1
  • Rating : 0
Re: The Fault In Our Stars - John Green
« Reply #6 on: June 15, 2012, 06:23 PM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
I agree ... I haven't cried more, I know where the story is heading and I can't bring myself to read it. Just thinking about it moister my eyes. I have read "easy" by Tammara Webber to cheer me up, can't take my mind off the story "fault of our stars". Hope I can bring myself to complete it soon. Its one of those story which you don't just read but feel and live into.

i'm very tempted to buy easy but i'm still not sure since i didn't really like between the lines. how was easy? did you like it?
 

Offline hudasee

  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 533
  • -Receive: 835
  • Posts: 478
  • Rating : 1070
  • ^if you got detention, that's the way you do it!
Re: The Fault In Our Stars - John Green
« Reply #7 on: June 18, 2012, 12:06 AM »
I've done reading this two days ago. And what can I say, John Green exceeds my expectation again. This is different from his other books due to  the characters' personalities portray in The Fault in Our Stars. Hazel is different from Alaska/Margo/Lindsey. I love her more than Margo now. And this book made me cry more than Looking for Alaska.  :'(

I fall in love with John Green's writing because he used quotes to explain and create a story. I'm a sucker for such lines... that's why Dead Poets Society is on top of my list for fave films.

And I'll give you one [this is from the book]
Sorry but you are not allowed to view spoiler contents.
Wrath to Butch: That's you. You shall be called the Black Dagger warrior Dhestroyer....
Rhage: But you'll always be Butch to us, as well as hard-ass. Smart-ass. Royal pain in the ass... I think as long as there's an ASS in there, it'll be accurate.
Zhadist: How about bASStard?

^LOL :P
 

Offline Nouda

  • PTS Addict
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 133
  • -Receive: 105
  • Posts: 79
  • Rating : 116
Re: The Fault In Our Stars - John Green
« Reply #8 on: July 05, 2012, 04:38 PM »
I've only heard good things from everyone who's read it so far. In fact, I've got the ebook on my Kindle but I've been putting off reading it for months now since I'm not sure I could handle it. Just curious though, how does it compare in the "feels" category compared to the A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness? I cried at the ending of that book since it really touched my heart and I could totally relate to the feeling induced by the beautiful (albeit v. sad) ending.  :'(
Nouda - Book Reviewer @ Lanun Reviews: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login | You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login | You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
 

Offline hudasee

  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 533
  • -Receive: 835
  • Posts: 478
  • Rating : 1070
  • ^if you got detention, that's the way you do it!
Re: The Fault In Our Stars - John Green
« Reply #9 on: July 05, 2012, 06:38 PM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
I've only heard good things from everyone who's read it so far. In fact, I've got the ebook on my Kindle but I've been putting off reading it for months now since I'm not sure I could handle it. Just curious though, how does it compare in the "feels" category compared to the A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness? I cried at the ending of that book since it really touched my heart and I could totally relate to the feeling induced by the beautiful (albeit v. sad) ending.  :'(

Oh Patrick Ness - I haven't pick that book of his yet. So I can't tell. But here's what i can say - read the book. There's no harm done if you try to read it now. And assess your impression to it later. If i can compare it - its 2 notches down from "My Sister's Keeper" by Jodi Picoult.
Wrath to Butch: That's you. You shall be called the Black Dagger warrior Dhestroyer....
Rhage: But you'll always be Butch to us, as well as hard-ass. Smart-ass. Royal pain in the ass... I think as long as there's an ASS in there, it'll be accurate.
Zhadist: How about bASStard?

^LOL :P
 

Offline LilyLee

  • PTS Contributor
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 240
  • -Receive: 716
  • Posts: 129
  • Rating : 822
Re: The Fault In Our Stars - John Green
« Reply #10 on: August 27, 2012, 09:24 AM »
Just read these two reviews about TFiOS and thought other might like them as well.

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

A woman without curves is like jeans without pockets... you don't know where to put your hands.
 

Offline booklover001

  • PTS Contributor
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2740
  • -Receive: 68
  • Posts: 114
  • Rating : 69
Re: The Fault In Our Stars - John Green
« Reply #11 on: September 04, 2012, 07:14 AM »
It's one of the best books I've read in a long time.  Couldn't put it down when I read it.  I wholeheartedly recommend it, even to those who don't like tear jerkers as there is more to the book than that.  It's wonderfully written and just grabs you and doesn't let you go :)  It's a fairly quick read too.
xxx
 

Offline erin1985

  • PTS Contributor
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 57
  • -Receive: 54
  • Posts: 118
  • Rating : 54
Re: The Fault In Our Stars - John Green
« Reply #12 on: September 04, 2012, 08:30 PM »
i don't know if i want to thank you for recommending this book or slap you for it.
I loved it, cried my eyes out in quite a few parts. I was laughing in bits, and just felt pretty darn miserable when i Had finished it.
But it was a great book, and a good look at a certain perspective of death.
“Dying is overrated. Human sentimentality has twisted it into the ultimate act of love. Biggest load of bullshit in the world. Dying for someone isn't the hard thing. The man that dies escapes. Plain and simple. Game over. End of pain...Try living for someone. Through it all-good, bad, thick, thin,
 

Offline rjsdayout

  • PTS Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 1
  • Rating : 0
Re: The Fault In Our Stars - John Green
« Reply #13 on: December 06, 2012, 04:07 AM »
wers d link to download this book???
 

Offline Lexie

  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 15622
  • -Receive: 10462
  • Posts: 13289
  • Rating : 11295
    • Fastidious Reader
Re: The Fault In Our Stars - John Green
« Reply #14 on: December 06, 2012, 04:15 AM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
wers d link to download this book???

We don't host books. And besides this one is for reviews only. :)
 

Offline tatyanalauren

  • PTS Friend
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 14
  • -Receive: 8
  • Posts: 26
  • Rating : 8
  • Bookworm/ ebookaddict/ booklover
Re: The Fault In Our Stars - John Green
« Reply #15 on: February 06, 2013, 03:46 PM »
I really loved this book-- it wasn't much of a heavy read but it was heartbreaking and full of love as well. I cried reading this book-- especially the end part (eulogies) they were beautiful. I learned a lot from this book: from sacrifice to unconditional love. At first it bothered me because they were still pretty young. Bit it occurred to me that may it's true: love has no age limit :)
❤ Attraversiamo ❤
 

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
0 Replies
1358 Views
Last post July 05, 2012, 04:21 PM
by Nouda



Powered by SMFPacks Advanced Attachments Uploader Mod