• January 17, 2017, 01:23 PM
• Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Perusing The Shelves

Author Topic: Books like The Mortal Instruments?  (Read 2418 times)

Offline Katerandomness

  • PTS Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 18
  • Rating : 4
Books like The Mortal Instruments?
« on: May 26, 2012, 01:10 AM »
Hello there. I just recently realized why I like The Mortal Instruments so much. It's because the world doesn't ONLY revolve around Jace and Clary. Things go on everywhere, things happen with Simon, Isabelle, Alec, Magnus, etc. Unlike many other books, there are many interesting characters in TMI other than Jace and Clary. I must say even Sebastian is an interesting character.

Is there any other books that don't revolve only around the main hero and heroine? In Twilight, though there are other couples, nothing actually happen with the other couples, the books only focus on Edward and Bella.

Thanks for any suggestions!
 

Offline Katerandomness

  • PTS Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 18
  • Rating : 4

Offline hudasee

  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 533
  • -Receive: 825
  • Posts: 478
  • Rating : 1060
  • ^if you got detention, that's the way you do it!
Re: Books like The Mortal Instruments?
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2012, 01:23 AM »
Obernewtyn Chronicles by Isobelle Carmody. Although the POV remains with the main protagonist. Still other characters are really interesting especially the animals here. ( I love Maruman) and the antagonist here is really creepy too, twisted like Sebastian.

I dont know if anyone will agree to my comparison but hey, both are great series.

OFF-TOPIC:

Im experiencing something unusual with the General Forums. Cant access it. Dunno why? Are there others who can't access it like me?  :(

When i try to go to the page, it directs me to this note: The topic or board you are looking for appears to be either missing or removed due to complaint from another user.
« Last Edit: May 26, 2012, 01:28 AM by hudasee »
Wrath to Butch: That's you. You shall be called the Black Dagger warrior Dhestroyer....
Rhage: But you'll always be Butch to us, as well as hard-ass. Smart-ass. Royal pain in the ass... I think as long as there's an ASS in there, it'll be accurate.
Zhadist: How about bASStard?

^LOL :P
 

Offline katzsis

  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6393
  • -Receive: 1240
  • Posts: 420
  • Rating : 1397
  • "Lest We Forget"
Re: can't access boards
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2012, 01:52 AM »
 :huh: :shocked: :angry: :cry: :sad:  Hi Hudasee - just when we all getting into the swing of things - looks like STP has gone the way of other file share sites. Mods say it's migrating - here's hoping that's true. I for one am infinitely disappointed. Kat :cry:
'...freedom is the sure possession of those alone who have the courage to defend it.' Pericles
 

Offline hudasee

  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 533
  • -Receive: 825
  • Posts: 478
  • Rating : 1060
  • ^if you got detention, that's the way you do it!
Re: can't access boards
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2012, 02:04 AM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
:huh: :shocked: :angry: :cry: :sad:  Hi Hudasee - just when we all getting into the swing of things - looks like STP has gone the way of other file share sites. Mods say it's migrating - here's hoping that's true. I for one am infinitely disappointed. Kat :cry:

I am pissed off. DMCA was enacted and signed by former Pres. Bill Clinton on 1998. And now, they're trying to enforce it. As one of the posters here said, its pure hypocrisy. I don't know what they are thinking. It will be very difficult even if they try to takedown all sharing site, those sites like piratebay and demonoid, they can't... this will just be a long battle - lawsuits and the likes. I want to know and i wonder what other people who are pro-sharing will say.
Wrath to Butch: That's you. You shall be called the Black Dagger warrior Dhestroyer....
Rhage: But you'll always be Butch to us, as well as hard-ass. Smart-ass. Royal pain in the ass... I think as long as there's an ASS in there, it'll be accurate.
Zhadist: How about bASStard?

^LOL :P
 

Offline katzsis

  • PTS Expert
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6393
  • -Receive: 1240
  • Posts: 420
  • Rating : 1397
  • "Lest We Forget"
Re: can't access boards
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2012, 02:22 AM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
I am pissed off. .


you said it. I don't have a problem buying new ebooks but I do have a problem duplicating my existing library of 1000's many of which are out of print/copyright - here in Australia we are legally allowed to record free to air tv for personal use - not sale or display - and load CD's to play on ipods etc again not for sale or display & it irks me that I'm not allowed get digital copies of what I already own. The other half of the story is money of course - ridiculous that books you can pick up 2nd hand or in an op shop for a few bucks are still $15 or more as ebooks when have been out for months/years. If those that have the power really want to prevent sharing why not have a low blanket price  for everything over a certain age & pay a premium for getting it hot off the press - the way you do with a new CD or TV series. As a final note of my rant - many books I've read because of sharing that I wouldn't have tried otherwise, which has led me to buy other books of that author - same as if I'd borrowed from friend or library - now those sales potentially lost. Talk about cutting off nose to spite face. Anyway - the end. Hope to see you again sometime. In the process of cataloguing library on dbfiction - as lengthy job - so that will keep me occupied in the meantime.  :sad: Kat
'...freedom is the sure possession of those alone who have the courage to defend it.' Pericles
 

Offline Katerandomness

  • PTS Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 18
  • Rating : 4
Re: Books like The Mortal Instruments?
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2012, 02:45 AM »
Oh my Lord. I didn't even know this happened. Why the hell. I love this site. I come here almost everyday to look at reviews and discussions and stuff. What do I do now?
 

Tags:
 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
0 Replies
2528 Views
Last post January 03, 2008, 01:36 PM
by gkunalin
20 Replies
3404 Views
Last post November 27, 2011, 05:27 AM
by delena18
0 Replies
3152 Views
Last post December 01, 2011, 04:02 AM
by Aquarise