• August 18, 2018, 08:46 PM
• Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Perusing The Shelves

Author Topic: Review Your BOOKS HERE!  (Read 67620 times)

Offline red!

Review Your BOOKS HERE!
« on: March 19, 2013, 01:27 PM »
REVIEW IT HERE!!!
Have a book that was just incredible that you want to tell the whole world about?! Maybe you thought it was terrible and want to warn everyone away from it!

Well here is your chance to let it out! Don't hold back on what you thought we really want to know.


We want this to be a place to discuss books, to plan on reading books together, to talk about the writers, and or anything and everything about books!

AUTHORS if you would like to have your book reviewed please add it here with a link to where we can find it! I am going to try and read every book someone adds to this thread. (Be kind to me)



         

When Posting about a book Please CHANGE THE SUBJECT LINE to the name and Author of the book.

I am starting the thread out with a book we are starting this Friday!

Book of the Week = BoTW
How to Lead a Life of Crime by Kirsten Miller  - 3/22
« Last Edit: July 03, 2013, 02:17 AM by kymp322 »
 
The following users thanked this post: Loopy, Tart, ash_vamp, lulu7005, Jules (:, Tallia, Frenchy, Ash.o, Lexie, ♥love♥, hathor, Brenda

Advertisement


WebUser

  • Guest
Review of Don't Want To Miss A Thing By Jill Mansell
« Reply #21 on: March 25, 2013, 07:58 AM »
 :star: :star: :star: :star:

BOOK     : Don't Want To Miss A Thing
AUTHOR : JILL MANSELL



 I'd give it 5 stars, her first 5 stars but there is just one thing I didnt like about it so 4 stars!! So its as good as Millie's Fling, and better than the rest of her books. :)

Once again, Jill Mansell has made me feel like I'm in the English countryside, and isnt that beautiful? Anyway, adorable characters...though the male may have seemed like a kid sometimes. But she has emphasized many times how he is the entire package so what the hell!
Ok this is probably spoiler alert but I doubt any of you will care :P Like in all her books, someone cheats. But it was still a shocker when it turned out that one of the side characters (happily married, perfect man Joe) led a dual life and had a son (illegitimate, obviously) the same age as his daughter :omg: And he's in love with both his wife and mistress, loves them equally, just as he loves his perfect shiny clean son and daughter who lies, drinks and uses drugs. But somehow she's still nice. His real family finds out and kicks him out. Okay, that should have been the end of the story. But NO! The two families develop a very close and "special" friendship, and the ex-wife becomes BFFS with the woman who "shared" her hubby for 20 years. Seriously? :wtf: Morals? Conscience?
Or maybe I'm just not that big a person ::) But that part really disappointed me. I prefer Disney I think. :P

Apart from that, the rest of the book is absolutely delightful! There are 2-3 other couples, and the pairing is quirky and likable.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2013, 11:27 PM by ╰☆╮Mia╰☆╮ »
 
The following users thanked this post: red!, Frenchy

Offline N.A.

Between the lines series by Tammara webber
« Reply #22 on: March 25, 2013, 08:21 AM »
I read this series a while back... so
The first 2 books in the series are good... u can really get into them.
I liked Emma the h....but i didnt like Reid...he is just so annoying and a jerk.
I liked Graham much more...i was rooting for him through out the books. Its mature YA by the way.
So the third book is about Reid only...no Emma or Graham....And I couldnt finish it...i dont
even think i made it halfway before quitting on the book.

Now Tammara Webber's book Easy
I loved it....the story kept me interested and the characters were like-able.
 
The following users thanked this post: red!

Offline lello

Review: How to lead a life of Crime by Kirsten Miller
« Reply #23 on: March 25, 2013, 02:18 PM »
How to lead a life of Crime  by  Kirsten Miller   :star: :star: :star:

I liked it, i liked the narration and how Peter Pan was used, i found the plot really intreseting but i think the author's intention of keeping the reader guessing was a bit of a double edged sword, and things dragged a little, i nearly dropped my E-reader a couple of times because i kept nodding off  :015: while reading, i didn't like the end very much it was all too easy for me.
And i didn't get why the word
Sorry but you are not allowed to view spoiler contents.
was censored, this is a book about creating the future criminals of the world and u can't say the word
Sorry but you are not allowed to view spoiler contents.
in it but u can say
Sorry but you are not allowed to view spoiler contents.
? It didn't make any sense to me and i found it a bit absurd and silly.
« Last Edit: March 25, 2013, 10:44 PM by ♥love♥ »
Stalking PTS!!!
 
The following users thanked this post: red!, Tallia, Frenchy, ♥love♥

Offline Kallisto

Review: Feudlings by Wendy Knight
« Reply #24 on: March 25, 2013, 10:39 PM »
Feudlings by Wendy Knight :star: :star: :star: :star: :star:

Awesome book. Lots of actions, well done romance and great characters!
« Last Edit: March 25, 2013, 10:43 PM by ♥love♥ »
Gah, some chicks should be shot. Put out of everyone else's reproduction pool. - Dani O'Malley

Have you met people? They're very annoying. - Angela (Unspoken)
 
The following users thanked this post: Helia, red!, ♥love♥

Offline Lexie

Review: Let the Sky Fall by Shannon Messenger
« Reply #25 on: March 26, 2013, 05:45 AM »
Let the Sky Fall by Shannon Messenger

More like 3.5 stars. I was confused the first time I started reading it last week. I don't know what to think about it then... Uh, right now I was thinking of... uh, nothing. :( I mean I don't think it's the book's fault that I can't think of anything right now. Because I do think I lost my way with words. Can't even review a damn book anymore. :(

For me, this is a good one. Can't explain but  yeah... It got some perks. I mean... ugh, dammit. Whatever. Just try to read it and judge it yourself. >.<
« Last Edit: March 26, 2013, 11:03 PM by ♥love♥ »
 
The following users thanked this post: red!, ♥love♥

Offline red!

Review: Wombstone, Vampireland, #1 by Jessica Roscoe
« Reply #26 on: March 28, 2013, 04:36 PM »
Wombstone, Vampireland, #1 by  Jessica Roscoe   :star: :star: :star: :star:

I really liked this book. It gives a different perspective of becoming a vampire than most other books in this genre do. I can't wait to see what happens to all the characters in this book. Seeing them start to form through this first book was interesting. I can't wait to see who and what they grow into.
 

Offline red!

Review: Lover At Last (Black Dagger Brotherhood #11) By J.R. Ward
« Reply #27 on: March 28, 2013, 04:45 PM »
Lover At Last (Black Dagger Brotherhood #11) By J.R. Ward  :star: :star: :star: :star:

What can I say it is BDB and since I absolutely LOVE this series how can I not LOVE this book.
I did love this book as much as the men, Blaylock and Qhuinne, frustrated me to KNOW END! But it seems they followed every mans problem of the lack of communication between each other and the inability to deal with their feelings. I love how ward has so many things going on but still manages to keep you riveted to each part of the story. You are not just tied into Blay and Qhuinnes story but to Layla's developing story, the shadows story developing and the political story. As always everything ties in together well.
Can not wait for the next book!
 
The following users thanked this post: N.A., cavey

Offline cavey

Review: Lover At Last (Black Dagger Brotherhood #11) By J.R. Ward
« Reply #28 on: March 28, 2013, 05:38 PM »
My review on J R Ward's 11th book  Lover at Last

I loved that she was allowed to do a HEA for Qhuinn and Blay.   I was thrilled she brought Layla into it more ,  Wich she would have brought a few of the others like Z and Butch into the story a ittle more   Xhex was mentioned a couple of times  but I wanted to know what was goping on in her and Johns Life too....   
Xcor and Throe are higly intriguing,   I wanted more of Lassister     and Assail and Sola is going to be no end of fun,  and I think we are going to see a lot more of Luchas.   not for getting the shadows,    so I am guessing we now just have to wait patiently for the next four or five years to get these charactors sorted in future books  out of 5  I will give the book a 4    was not her best BDB book  but was no where near her worst....     ( with Qhuinn and Blay  if they should be allowed to marry  who gets whos name on their backs?  both of them?   and who is then next to be inducted into the brotherhood?
« Last Edit: March 29, 2013, 03:15 PM by red! »
I am not a complete idiot, some parts are missing    :)
 
The following users thanked this post: red!

Offline Kallisto

Review: The Collector by Victoria Scott
« Reply #29 on: March 28, 2013, 07:17 PM »
The Collector by Victoria Scott :star: :star: :star: :star:

This was a super fun read. If you like paranormal, should give this one a try.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2013, 03:15 PM by red! »
Gah, some chicks should be shot. Put out of everyone else's reproduction pool. - Dani O'Malley

Have you met people? They're very annoying. - Angela (Unspoken)
 
The following users thanked this post: red!

Offline Tallia

Re: Review for Twice Tempted by Jeaniene Frost
« Reply #30 on: March 29, 2013, 04:36 AM »
Twice Tempted by Jeaniene Frost

TT is just as awesome as its prequel  Once Burned. Leila reminded me greatly of Cat with her desire to help others and catch the bad guys with complete disregard to her own safety where as Vlad played the role of protective control freak lover religiously. Both romantic and relationship progress between the pair is conveyed beautifully. The dialogue is vintage Jeaniene Frost so ofcourse its great. TT has quite alot of plot & character development so definitely a must read!

I gave it :star: :star: :star: :star: :star:  however it was more 4.5 stars for me

 
The following users thanked this post: Kallisto, red!

Offline Tallia

Review: Black Dagger Brotherhood 1, 2, & 3 by J. R. Ward
« Reply #31 on: March 29, 2013, 05:02 AM »
Because of all the hype about Lover at Last I got started with the Blood Dagger Brotherhood series...my first time  ^-^  So far I have only read the first three books and am currently reading the fourth book. I have given

Dark Lover(BDB #1) by  J.R Ward
:star: :star: :star: :star:

Lover Eternal(BDB #2) by J.R Watd
:star: :star: :star: :star:

Lover Awakened(BDB #3 by J.R Ward
:star: :star: :star: :star: :star:
« Last Edit: March 29, 2013, 03:17 PM by red! »
 
The following users thanked this post: red!

Offline cavey

Re: Review Your BOOKS HERE!
« Reply #32 on: March 29, 2013, 11:16 AM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
Because of all the hype about Lover at Last I got started with the Blood Dagger Brotherhood series...my first time  ^-^  So far I have only read the first three books and am currently reading the fourth book. I have given

Dark Lover(BDB #1) by  J.R Ward
:star: :star: :star: :star:

Lover Eternal(BDB #2) by J.R Watd
:star: :star: :star: :star:

Lover Awakened(BDB #3 by J.R Ward
:star: :star: :star: :star: :star:

And your fav brother so far is?    Mine and will probably always will be Zsadist   but I love the By play between Butch and Vishous and I love the fallen angel Lassiter,    actually , I quite like them all   
I am not a complete idiot, some parts are missing    :)
 
The following users thanked this post: red!

Offline Tallia

Re: Review Your BOOKS HERE!
« Reply #33 on: March 29, 2013, 12:46 PM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
And your fav brother so far is?    Mine and will probably always will be Zsadist   but I love the By play between Butch and Vishous and I love the fallen angel Lassiter,    actually , I quite like them all   

So far I have only given Zsadist  book  5 stars as his also my fav till now :) though all the guys are great. I also love the by play between Butch and Vishous infact at times I feel like the two would end up in an m/m situation for all their closeness :D I haven't yet met Lassiter which book is he introduced in? I'm still reading Lover Revealed
 
The following users thanked this post: red!

Offline N.A.

Highlander most Wanted- Maya Banks
« Reply #34 on: March 29, 2013, 08:47 PM »
 I give it : :star: :star: :star:

 This book was good I liked it. Though I kept thinking
something really dramatic was gonna happen before the end...
Like, I don't know, maybe an abduction or something.
I'm confused about something though and Maya gives no explanation
about this in the book..
Sorry but you are not allowed to view spoiler contents.
someone explain this to
me caz I'm gonna lose sleep over this...lol (kidding)! Do u guys find that stupid too or is it just me?
 
The following users thanked this post: kimmietru, red!

Offline ♥love♥

Re: Highlander most Wanted- Maya Banks
« Reply #35 on: March 29, 2013, 09:17 PM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
I give it : :star: :star: :star:

 This book was good I liked it. Though I kept thinking
something really dramatic was gonna happen before the end...
Like, I don't know, maybe an abduction or something.
I'm confused about something though and Maya gives no explanation
about this in the book..
Sorry but you are not allowed to view spoiler contents.
someone explain this to
me caz I'm gonna lose sleep over this...lol (kidding)! Do u guys find that stupid too or is it just me?

That's funny cause that went through my mind when I was reading it too. I need a thinking smiley right now  :P
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
 
The following users thanked this post: red!

Offline Lexie

Review: Destroy Me (Shatter Me #1.5) by Tahereh Mafi
« Reply #36 on: March 30, 2013, 07:30 AM »
Destroy Me (Shatter Me #1.5) by Tahereh Mafi : :star: :star: :star: :star:

Okay. First, I thought I marked this as Currently Reading 2 or 3 days ago... Only to find out (after I finished this book) that I marked the wrong book. I marked Unravel Me instead of Destroy Me. *rolls eyes*

Second, I was a bit scared to start this e-novella... Because people who read it, started to like Warner. I'm Team Adam. So yeah, scared to do a switch.

Third, I am STILL Team ADAM. I mean, I do understand Warner. I get it. I know how he feels because it was him talking... I know how his mind works now. I know that there is still something inside of Warner. He's not that all of a MONSTER we thought he is for doing all those things to Juliette. There is still goodness inside of him. The cold, unfeeling emotion he display is just a facade he needed to keep. Or be destroy by those people surrounding him.

I like him, but not enough for me to switch to Team Warner. Anyway, so yeah, 4 stars for Warner.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2013, 07:45 AM by red! »
 
The following users thanked this post: red!, ♥love♥

Offline lello

Review: Lover at Last (BDB) by J.R. Ward
« Reply #37 on: April 02, 2013, 06:27 AM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
I give it : :star: :star: :star:

 This book was good I liked it. Though I kept thinking
something really dramatic was gonna happen before the end...
Like, I don't know, maybe an abduction or something.
I'm confused about something though and Maya gives no explanation
about this in the book..
Sorry but you are not allowed to view spoiler contents.
someone explain this to
me caz I'm gonna lose sleep over this...lol (kidding)! Do u guys find that stupid too or is it just me?
I wondered about the same thing too ::) the only thing i came up with, no one is as "manly" as Bowen :laugh: and his "boys" have highlander powers  :D :D

Lover at Last  :star: :star: :star: 1/2
I liked it i really did, but i wanted more from Qhuinn and Blay than just sex, they had so little scenes together when they weren't jumping each other, so there were no intense emotional moments, i liked most of the side stories but i don't know why they were all crammed up in one book they almost swallowed UP the story, one of my favorite moments in the book
Sorry but you are not allowed to view spoiler contents.
it was so sad so intense i felt it deep in my heart.
« Last Edit: April 03, 2013, 05:31 AM by red! »
Stalking PTS!!!
 
The following users thanked this post: N.A.

Offline Helia

Review: Written in Red by Anne Bishop
« Reply #38 on: April 02, 2013, 06:39 AM »
  Regular five stars do not do justice to the awesomeness of this book. It is the best paranormal ever in everything - style of writing, plot, characters, world-building. It is truly extraordinary and if you want to experience something new and amazing in this genre - read and enjoy this book ASAP. :-*
 

Offline N.A.

Re: Review Your BOOKS HERE!
« Reply #39 on: April 02, 2013, 07:02 AM »
 :)
« Last Edit: September 29, 2013, 06:52 PM by Naz.a »
 

Offline lello

Re: Review Your BOOKS HERE!
« Reply #40 on: April 02, 2013, 07:10 AM »
u r absolutely right but, so far, for me at least this series is not one of Maya Banks best work, it was like it was written as an after thought.
Stalking PTS!!!
 

Tags:
 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
3 Replies
3417 Views
Last post February 23, 2012, 05:45 AM
by lello
2 Replies
2170 Views
Last post January 02, 2012, 06:38 AM
by sowmyakc_sridharan
1 Replies
7352 Views
Last post January 03, 2012, 11:24 PM
by chituprakash
1 Replies
1814 Views
Last post May 31, 2012, 06:25 PM
by Lexie
0 Replies
7952 Views
Last post August 05, 2012, 02:57 AM
by Infinitely Bookish
8 Replies
1889 Views
Last post May 01, 2013, 01:22 PM
by lello
0 Replies
1480 Views
Last post July 08, 2014, 10:59 AM
by Gentleman Thug